The Humpty Dumpty Institute Congratulates The Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) on its 50th Anniversary

Image courtesy of the National Archives and Records Administration
Fifteen members of the Congressional Black Caucus pose on the steps of the U.S. Capitol in 1977,, from left to right: (front row) Barbara Jordan of Texas, Robert Nix, Sr., of Pennsylvania, Ralph Metcalfe of Illinois, Cardiss Collins of Illinois, Parren Mitchell of Maryland, Gus Hawkins of California, Shirley Chisholm of New York; (middle row) John Conyers, Jr., of Michigan, Charles Rangel of New York, Harold Ford, Sr., of Tennessee, Yvonne Brathwaite Burke of California, Walter Fauntroy of the District of Columbia; (back row) Ronald Dellums of California, Louis Stokes of Ohio, and Charles C. Diggs, Jr., of Michigan.
HDI is proud to join Congressional Black Caucus Chair Representative Joyce Beaty (D-OH) in congratulating the Congressional Black Caucus on its 50th Anniversary. We are especially proud that one of the longest serving members of HDI’s Congressional Advisory Board (CAB), former Congressman Charles Rangel (D-NY) was one of the original founders of the Caucus in 1971. Today, HDI is humbled to have 14 Members of the CBC on its CAB.